Skip to main navigation Skip to main content



Senate Standing Committees

​​​The General Assembly meets in regular session 60 days in even-numbered years, and 30 days in odd-numbered years. To provide an efficient way of deliberating the many issues under consideration, each chamber is organized into standing committees which concentrate on specific topics, such as Education or Transportation. The jurisdiction of each committee is detailed in the Senate Rules, which are adopted at the beginning of each session. Standing committees, which usually number between 12 and 15 for each chamber, meet only during a session, and all proposed legislation must move through them.